What I’ve Been Doing.

Well hello there.

It feels like it has been awhile. As I said before, I’ve been hanging out with my painting.

One huge painting to be exact.

A short time ago I was given a great opportunity for my work.

Here’s the thing: I’m not going to go into details until all the loose ends are tied up, which will be several months. “Exciting opportunity” is enough for now.

And as with most opportunities, there came a deadline.

And in this case, it was a very very tight deadline.

And so I painted. And painted. And painted.

Through the day, and well into the night. Bleary eyed and ecstatic, and terrified and overjoyed all at once—-as one should be, when they are in the center of their passion.

Surviving off a diet of kombucha, water, my favorite chocolate bar and lots and lots of encouragement from people I love.

Twelve days later, I arrived at this: a fully realized five by ten foot painting.

The largest painting I have every made; and I was/am positively beaming.

So here is just a preview.  A “sneak peek” if you will.

These are like paragraphs out of a chapter. It’s not the full story, but a glimpse into some of the moments.

You’ll get the full story, in time. And with proper lighting and photography that will be worth the wait.

But until then, here are some of the movements of the piece, ones I particularly like, the ones that kept me going at midnight.

There is something to be said for the combination of realism and hope. I was sandwiched between the those two dynamcis for many, many hours.

The very real fact that I had a deadline. The fact that painting is complicated and a lot can go wrong. The simple truth that there are only so many hours in a day.

And the hope that maybe within me, there was something deep and beautiful that could come from standing in front of a canvas for hours, and giving it everything I’ve got.

So here’s to you:

And my desire that if you see nothing else in these details, that they would infuse your realism with a little bit of hope, on this very day.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’ve Been Doing.

  1. Doona says:

    Can’t wait for the full reveal…chilly bumps till then!!!!

Leave a Reply

