Some French Macaroons

It’s been awhile since we’ve talked about food art.

Mostly I’ve been making in-edible things. While melted beeswax smells amazing when I’m making encaustic work, it is by no means delicious.

These, however, are.

French Macaroons. Voila!

I’ll be honest, making french macaroons REALLY intimidates me. They are a tricky business. A good french macaroon has a smooth top and a crinkly bottom (otherwise known as a “foot.”) If over-baked, over-mixed, or with too much humidity, none of these lovely things happen. The french macaroon (or so I have read) is a good test of a baker’s skill, because following the recipe is not quite enough. You must respond to the ingredients, the environment, and know just how to execute the dessert on that given day.

I don’t actually know how to do any of that.

But I’ve been trying. And I’ve kept trying. Would you believe me if I told you this was attempt number nine? It is.

You know what changed? I bought a kitchen scale. (I’m not kidding. It was the scale that did it. My eight previous attempts were utter failures, and then I bought a kitchen scale and came out with perfectly smooth, footed macaroons.)

Aren’t they pretty?

And they are delicious to boot.

Apricot, white chocolate and ginger. Lovely.

My inspiration (and terrified step by step instruction) came from this lovely food blog. Please do look at it. It is fabulous.

I did a little happy dance when they were done.

They really are a marvel to eat. Light and crunchy and almond scented, with the tart fruit filling, mellowed by creamy white chocolate, with just a hint of sharp ginger. Heaven.

Ah, french macaroons. I think we’re friends after all.

 

This entry was posted in Feasting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some French Macaroons

  1. chau-lee says:

    I have read this post through at least three times now… it makes me smile and I just can’t get enough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

