Small Things

I am in my studio most days.

With the door open, in January. Thanks goodness I live in North Carolina. I noticed yesterday two daffodils growing outside my door. In January.

None the less, working conditions are a little chilly, and intense. Now that I’m working with encaustic I am learning a completely new medium, one which requires patience, and a blow torch. Literally.

While I learn this beautiful, complex, unending new medium, I am also continuing to make small watercolors.

Skyler McGee, Watercolor on Paper, 5" x 5", 2011

These works are essential. They keep me learning about composition, color, and negative space. They are primarily instinctual which means that I can be creative in new ways while working on them. And they are highly meditative, a bit like walking a labyrinth.

Skyler McGee, Watercolor on Paper, 5" x 5", 2011

What I have noticed is that the more I work on these small works, the more I see them reflected in larger, more elaborate works of art. Somehow the small scale informs the large pieces. I am learning from them.

Skyler McGee, Watercolor on Paper, 5" x 5", 2011

It is a wonderful thing as an artist, to realize that the tiny, quick, seemingly easy works are an essential part of the whole of a creative life. They are key to moving forward in the bigger picture, and play a much larger role in it than I would have originally thought.

Skyler McGee, Watercolor on Paper, 5" x 5", 2011

Thanks goodness for small squares of paper, and a few spare minutes.

Be kind to animals. Listen to children. Learn from small things.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Small Things

  1. You do all those things well. May I practice learning from the small things more…..thanks for the reminder love.

Leave a Reply

