Gritty Work

First of all, thanks to everyone who came out to the opening of my show. It was such a joy to see each of you. It filled me up and I went home that night simply brimming with affection for all of the amazing people around me. Thank you.

And now I am back in the studio. Which is my favorite place.

I’m working in a relatively new medium for me, encaustic. Encaustic is “painting” with hot wax. It’s amazing and very fun to work with. Also, it acts nothing like paint. Sometimes it seems to have a mind of its own.  As I have been pouring over my work the last few days, I realize that I have been trying to wrestle it into submission. I have been trying to gain control over the medium, which is important in learning. But to some extent, I think I have been fighting it, and trying to keep it clean, rather than allowing it to be a little wild.

Then this morning I saw these. This is the work of Janet Bothne.

Over The Wall 16” x 20” acrylic on canvas

I love it. It moves me.

Weighing The Beauty & Imperfection 28” x 60” acrylic on canvas

Her work is layered. And incised. And messy. And intentional.

It’s gritty.

And I love it.

Bouffant 60” x 40” acrylic on canvas - diptych

Say It With Paint 36” x 24” acrylic on canvas

So today when I go back into the studio. (After another cup of coffee)

I will let it be gritty.

My hope it that when you walk into whatever studio is yours~

whatever work is yours to do, whether it’s a career or family or friendships or yourself…

that you will let it be gritty.

And layered and messy and intentional.

And you’ll love it.

 

* All images credit of www.janetbothne.com

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gritty Work

  1. I like this artist as well….especially “Say it with paint”. Thanks for sharing gritty art.

Leave a Reply

