Feasting: The Farm, The City and The Spiritual

I want to own goats.  And chickens. Yes, really.

I want to do this for several reasons.

Because they are cute.

Because they are relatively small.

Because I genuinely believe that it is a good thing to connect to our food and to the earth.

And also because I could eat my weight in goat cheese and fresh eggs, and then go back for seconds.

These are some of my favorite things to eat. (I mean, does it get any better than a fresh salad with bitter greens, herbed chevre and a poached egg? Also while I’m on the subject I would like to order a appetizer of the French country side, lavender fields, and Monet’s water lilies….)

Right now, I live in a small apartment in the city.  Alas, the chickens and the goats will have to wait for me. I do have a friend who lives on a farm.  It’s this gorgeous farm here in North Carolina.  With chickens squawking and goats prancing and huge trees that tower over us and when the wind blows through them, it sounds like the ocean.

This is me last year, at the farm.

I’m enraptured. (Also, I’m about five months pregnant with my daughter who now loves animals.  Imagine that.)

I love the farm. I love the noise of the creatures there, contrasted by the vast silence of countryside.  I love getting dirt under my fingernails and the feeling of breathing clean air. And I love the freshness of the food……

My friend made me some goat milk yogurt to bring home.

It tasted so clean and mild.  Almost a bit like coconut milk.  It felt healthy—and not in the ‘this muffin is healthy and tastes like a brick’ kind of way. It felt healthy like a good yoga session or a long conversation or the occasional really good cry.

I don’t live on a farm.  Perhaps one day. There is a longing for it in me that is sometimes hard to explain. Not just for the food.

I was just talking about this longing with a friend of mine.  She eloquently explained that for some people “being with nature is like going to church….”

I took home my goat milk yogurt and relished it all week long.

For me, it was my stained glass window in my small apartment home.

This entry was posted in Feasting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Feasting: The Farm, The City and The Spiritual

  1. Evan says:

    Thanks for posting this sky… blessed to think on these things.

  2. You can move to Sudan, we have like lots of goats and chickens in our yard, on our porch, crowing at 4am outside our window. So romantic. If you come though, will you bring enough power for me to have a fridge? Then I’ll make you all the goat cheese you want. Deal?

  3. Ashley Ransom says:

    This makes me happy…and a little homesick. I have an amazing mother-in-law, and I’m glad you get to enjoy her!

  4. EllenRan says:

    I love this post, Skyler.
    And so glad you love Ransomshire. We want it to be a healthy healing place.

  5. This makes me homesick! I want to go visit your friend on the farm, and I won’t have the chance until October!!!

Leave a Reply

